APS Policy and Procedural Directive
Students and parents have multiple resources for school and APS policies to help students be successful in school. Read APS Policy and Procedural Directives for Students.
Reporting an Absence:
Students must use the official SHS Absence Form. This form can be found below and in the administration office. This form can be filled out online but it must be printed and signed by a parent/guardian.
Students have 3 days after each absence to return the completed form to the administration office and place it in the attendance basket.
School‐related Activities forms are to be turned in 3 days before the absence.
Phone calls are not accepted for any absences.
Attending school regularly helps all students, whether receiving general or special education services, develop the skills and habits they will need to succeed as adults. APS understands that your child may need to miss an occasional day; however, students are expected to miss no more than 10 days, excused or unexcused, within any given school year. The Federal Every Student Succeeds Act requires that states, school districts and schools be held accountable for ensuring that student attendance is a critical component of the educational process. Please review the following information on how to notify your child’s school of absences, what the school and the State of New Mexico considers to be an excused absence, and the steps the school will take to support families who are facing barriers that make it difficult for a student to attend school on time each day. New Mexico law dictates that:
- Students between the ages of 5 and 18 years of age are mandated to attend public school, private school, home school or a state institution.
- Schools will provide intervention strategies that focus on keeping students in school.
- Habitual truants may be reported to appropriate authorities such as the APS Truancy Unit or Juvenile Probation. It is understood that sometimes families may need support to help their child be successful. School staff can assist with locating possible resources within the school community.
- In accordance with the notification procedure established by the school a parent/guardian must notify the school that the student will be absent each day that a student is absent even if the student will be absent multiple days.
- In accordance with the notification procedure established by the school a parent/guardian must notify the school each day that a student is signing out before the end of the instructional day.
- Teachers will take attendance by class period for each instructional day and record attendance in the district student information system.
- Parent/guardians should review their child’s attendance record through Parent/Vue online or at school.
- Absences may be excused for the following reasons with appropriate documentation:
- Illness, that prevents a child from being at school (including chronic illness documented on a health plan, IEP or 504 plan)
- Limited family emergencies; family deaths
- Medical, health or legal appointments
- Religious commitment
- College visit for 12th grade students or other students with principal approval.
- Deployment of a military parent as defined in the “Military Children” procedural directive • Limited extenuating circumstances as approved in advance by the school principal
- At least ten (10) days for students who provide documentation of the birth of the student’s child and parentage. Additional excused absences to the student after the birth of the child if deemed medically necessary by the student’s physician.
- An additional four (4) days for the students who provide appropriate documentation of pregnancy or that the student is the parent of a child under the age of thirteen needing care.
- All absences for other reasons are unexcused including:
- Non-school sponsored activities or trips
- Family vacations outside of the normally scheduled school breaks
- In APS, a student is considered “a student in need of early intervention” (truant) at five (5) unexcused absences and a habitual truant at ten (10) unexcused absences in a year.
- School staff will make an attempt to contact the parent/guardian if the school has not received notification of absences by a parent for three (3) consecutive days.
- Principals may request additional documentation for excessive excused absences.